Daily Prompt: Judgment Day

Daily Prompt: Judgment Day.

I would have to say that I would still read my favorite book purely by judging its cover. My favorite book is John Berendt’s Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil. It is a nonfiction, true story of a writer from New York that went to Savannah, GA and saw all that the sleepy town had to offer. There is murder, mystery, humor, and beautiful imagery of the Hostess City of the South. The cover is a simple picture of one of the most famous statues in Bonaventure Cemetery. The statue is called “Bird Girl” and it is of a young girl holding two bowls in each hand that collect water for birds to drink. You can easily find all sizes of this statue made and sold in stores throughout the city. Between the title and the image on the cover, it seems so simple yet so mysterious and, just like when I first picked it up, I just had to read it. (Of course, after reading it, you’ll be smitten with the idea of taking a jaunt to Savannah and seeing what all the hullabaloo is all about! I reread it before every trip I make!)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Prompt: Judgment Day

  1. I’m just starting to blog and I think these daily prompts will be a nice place to get me started!

Leave a Reply

