How can you get experience for a job if you can’t get a job without experience?

As many young adults are, I am currently in college. It was a long, winding road but I am less than a year away from getting my degree! First of all, I have to say that I cannot wait! It has been a long time coming and lot of work leading up to this. Second of all, with my degree (in English), I am looking forward to getting a real career started where I can settle down and enjoy what I do. I am thinking of getting into the publishing/editing world because I’ve always had a knack for that stuff.

Anyways, while I’m so close to my degree, I feel like I am just as far away from “real” jobs as ever. Have you ever noticed that even on careerbuilder.com that you can type in “entry level” as a keyword and you will get simple, basic admin assistant jobs requiring at least 1 to 2 years of experience. So…….you’re saying……..I have to have experience to get experience?? Doesn’t seem to make sense to me. How can I get experience if I can’t get experience? I apply to most of these jobs anyway because my resume clearly states that I am still in school and I do have a decent amount of work history. However, I feel like they are just a shot in the dark.

Companies boast about policies of honesty and trustworthiness, but how can one uphold those as much as one usually would if you have to stretch the truth to the point of breaking it just to be considered a candidate? So, in addition to looking for temporary jobs that aren’t just serving in a restaurant or somehow living out of a tip jar, I am looking for jobs in my field , particularly where I want to live (Savannah, GA!!). Hopefully, a different area will have more hope for the job market for me as a soon-to-be college grad! Wish me luck!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

